What are the Seven Summits?

What are the Seven Summits?


If you have heard the term “the 7 Summits” and are wondering what it refers to, well, here is the simple answer.

It refers to the highest summit found on each of the 7 continents, and climbing them  is considered an exceptional challenge, a challenge that was conceived by Richard Bass who completed the challenge on the 30th April 1985

By order of height they are:

8,848 m / 29,029 ft: Mount Everest, Nepal, Asia

6,961 m / 22,838 ft: Aconcagua, Argentina South America

6,194 m / 20,322 ft: Denali, Alaska, US, North America

5,895 m / 19,341 ft:Mount Kilimanjaro, Tanzania, Africa **Check out trip page for climbing details.

5,642 m / 18,510 ft:Mount Elbrus, Russia, Europe **Check out trip page for climbing details.

4,892 m / 16,050 ft: Mount Vinson, Antarctica

4,884m / 16,023ft: Carstensz Pyramid – Puncak Jaya, Australasia

2,228 m / 7,310 ft: Mount Kosciuszko, Australia




Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone